Previous Recipients

Our previous recipients….

Since 2007 both organising professional bodies have combined regularly to reward outstanding contributions to business and economic activity across the island of Ireland with a special achievement award.

2008 – Sen George Mitchell received the award in 2008 pictured here with Gordon Gough IBC Northern Ireland.

2009 – Tom Arnold was presented with the Award in 2009 jointly with Dr. Steve Collins of Valid Nutrition. Tom was appointed Chief Executive of Concern Worldwide in 2001 and retired in 2013. He was previously Assistant Secretary with the Irish Department of Agriculture and Food and Senior Economist with ACOT, the Farm Advisory Service. He is a member of the International Food Policy Research Institute’s 2020 Advisory Council and the UN’s Central Emergency Response Fund’s Advisory Group.Tom was also Chairman of the European Food Security Group and   was recently appointed to the trust governing the Irish Times, Ireland’s leading newspaper and to the Irish government’s Commission on Taxation. Tom Arnold is a graduate in Agricultural Economics from University College Dublin and has Masters Degrees from the Catholic University of Louvain and Trinity College Dublin.

2010 – In 2010 the award was presented to Denis Rooney in recognition of his work in Ireland over the last 40 years which has been significant through his posts at IFI, IoD and RICS. He has 40 years experience in public sector and private sector organisations and served as Chairman of the International Fund for Ireland (IFI). He qualified as a chartered quantity surveyor and set up the surveying practice DRA in 1984. He has held a number of key appointments such as Chief Executive of White Young Green Ireland, Chairman of Enterprise Equity Ireland and Northern Ireland and Chairman of the Institute of Directors (IOD) Northern Ireland. He has been active in the construction, the general business and community sectors, and has also served as an external examiner with the University of Ulster, School of the Built Environment and is a past Chairman of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS).

2011 – John Moloney was Group Managing Director at Glanbia plc from 2001 to end 2013, having been appointed to the Board in 1997. He joined the group in 1987 and held a number of senior management positions including Chief Executive of Food Ingredients and Agribusiness. He was appointed Deputy Group Managing Director in 2000 and assumed the responsibilities of Chief Operating Officer in 2001. Prior to joining the Group he worked with the Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry and in the meat industry in Ireland. He is a director of The Irish Dairy Board Co-operative Limited, DCC plc and a Council Member of the Irish Business and Employers’ Confederation (IBEC).

2012Feargal McCormack, was presented with the award in 2012. He is a Board Member of InterTradeIreland, EquityNetwork and is a Past Chairman of the Ulster Society of Chartered Accountants. Feargal McCormack is Managing Partner of PKF-FPM Chartered Accountants, is a Board Member of InterTradeIreland, EquityNetwork and is a Past Chairman of the Ulster Society of Chartered Accountants.a pro-active accountancy and business advice practice, located in Newry, Belfast, Dundalk and Dungannon, which was the first accountancy firm to secure IS0 9001 and Investor in People accreditation in Ireland.

2013 – Barry O’Leary received the award in 2013 – he was appointed CEO of IDA Ireland in 2007 prior to which he was Divisional Manager of their Life Sciences and Information & Communications Technology business units. Over a period of 30 years he has worked in most IDA business areas latterly as Director of Europe where he was closely associated with winning major projects from companies such as Bertelsmann, SAP, Deutsche Bank, Lufthansa, Kostal and Allianz.